

1300 757 395 admin@acse.org.au www.acse.org.au ABN: 45 000 026 618

#### ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

Thursday16 November, 6pm – 9pm, Kirribilli Club, 11 Harbourview Crescent, Lavender Bay, 2060

#### Present:

Wystan Alexander, Kevin Berry, David Carolan, Wayne Costin, Ray Fakhoury, Glen Fowlie, Craig Furness, Simon Gerrish, Steve Gibblett, Ali Habibi, Todd Halliday, Mike Haysler, Bruce Hutchison, Mick Jaroszewicz, Christopher Jennings, Nicholas Joannides, Rod Johnston, Nick Kokolis, Lilian Lee, Joyce Lee, Kevin Leedow, Michael Loke, Eammon Madden, Les Millist, Paul Moore, Trudy Myers, Philip O'Hara, Rick Piltz, Grant Roe, Andrew Simpson, Peter Standen, Richard Todd, Alan Wright, Chloe Wyatt

#### **Apologies**:

Peter Allsopp, Paul Bekker, Richard Binns, Tim Boulton, Ryan Campbell, Ross Clarke, Zlatko Gashi, Caleb Grifiths, Brent Guest, Trevor Hall, Peter Macdonald, Craig Mackay, John Matheson, Rob O'Reilly, Lisa Samways, Deb Smee

# Presidents Welcome: Todd Halliday

At 6.32pm Todd Halliday opened the meeting.

Minutes from 2016 AGM were accepted, with no matters arising.

The president's welcome presented the achievements of 2017:

- · Diversity on the Board
- New Purpose
- Rebranding
  - Revealed the New Logo
  - Revealed the New Website

## 2. Summary of the Annual Report: Todd Halliday

The 81st Annual Report was summarised and presented to Members.

A copy of this report is available at <a href="https://www.acse.org.au/resources">https://www.acse.org.au/resources</a>

## 3. Financial Summary, Andrew Simpson, ACSE Treasurer

Noted that the previous treasurer, Tim Hoare, retired in May 2017. The acting Treasurer, Andrew Simpson presented the Financial Report as contained within the Annual Report (refer hyperlink in item 2).

A motion to accept the 2016/2017 Financial Statements was put forward by Mike Haysler and seconded by Trudy Myers.

## 4. Announce new Charity Partner

Todd Halliday announced the launch of a new charity partnership with Partner Housing.

Bruce Hutchison and Rod Johnston gave a short presentation about the organisation and its work.



### Presentation of New Members

New members who were appointed to the Association during the past year were presented with their membership certificates:

Wystan Alexander, Joyce Lee, Lillian Lee, Ferris Chehade, Simon Gerish, Christopher Jennings and Lisa Samways (apology)

## 6. Election of the 2018 Board

Acknowledgment of retiring board members:

Eamonn Madden (served 6 years), Nick Kokolis (served 4 years), Kevin Berry (served 5 years), Rick Piltz (served 11 years), Simon Matthews

Nominations for new board members was put forward by Andrew Simpson and seconded by Rick Piltz: Joyce Lee, Deb Smee and Glen Fowlie

Nominations to appoint office bearers were put forward as follows:

Trudy Myers becomes President – nominated by Wystan Alexander, seconded by Mike Haysler
Matt Harding becomes Vice President - nominated by Rick Piltz, seconded by Andrew Simpson
Andrew Simpson becomes Treasurer and Company Secretary - nominated by Steve Giblett, seconded by Glen
Fowlie

With no further nominations from the floor, the Directors and office bearers were duly elected

## 7. Handover to new president

Incoming President, Trudy Myers gave a short presentation about her vision for the coming 12 months

### 8. **General Business** – open to the floor for members to submit matters of note

A notification was given to members that Howard Bernstein has recently passed away.

Les Millist raised a concern about safety notes, which was acknowledged by Trudy Myers and suggested for inclusion in an ACSE newsletter in 2018.

Kevin Leedow provided information about Cardno's graduate program, noting that funding is supplied to measure buildings

Noted that Eamonn Madden is finalising a Practise Paper on Peer Reviews and a members forum event is being held at Northrop to review the paper.

### 9. Conclusion

The meeting was officially closed at 7.25pm