Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors are peer elected volunteers and usually serve on the Board for five to eight years, with at least one year as president. The Board meets once a month to plan all events and activities and discuss financial and administration matters.

The Association employs a part-time Executive Officer to manage all business activity and events.

Stephen Giblett

Mott MacDonald

BEng (civil), MIEAust, CEng, NPER,

Stephen is the Buildings Group Leader at Mott MacDonald NSW and he has more than 20 years of structural engineering experience in both Australia and the UK. Stephen’s key interest are architectural buildings and structures with complex structural requirements.


Matt Harding

Robert Bird Group

BE (Hons) Civil, MIEAust, CPEng, NPER, MIPENZ, CPEng

Matt is a Principal in Robert Bird Group Sydney Office and has more than 15 years’ experience in New Zealand, Canada and Australia. Prior to Joining Robert Bird Group in 2006, Matt worked for Beca in the Wellington office with a focus on commercial building and industrial design. Matt has gained a wide range of experience in major residential, retail and commercial projects as well as large infrastructure projects and PPPs.

Michael Jaroszewicz

MAJ Consulting Pty Ltd

BSc MICE, MIE(Aust), CPEng, NPER, RPEQ, Registered Building Practitioner Victoria

Michael is the Principal of MAJ Consulting and has been a Director since 1989 and has close to 35 years’ experience in the structural design, construction and refurbishment of medium rise buildings. He has worked in the commercial, health-care, hospitality and residential sectors in Australia, as well as the UK and Middle East. As a Project Manager he has significant expertise in the repair of buildings damaged by earthquake, foundation settlement and spalling concrete.

Nishmin Hallam

Taylor Thomson Whitting

BE (Hons) and University Medal + BCom + CPEng

Nishmin is Associate Director at Taylor Thomson Whitting and has over 13 years of experience, working nationally and in Bath (UK) at TTW’s partner office, Buro Happold. She has solid experience across a wide range of project sectors in education, airports, government projects, commercial, sport and recreation, major refurbishments and façade engineering.

Nishmin is actively involved in a number of industry organisations. She regularly contributes her time and skills as a mentor, keynote speaker and leader within the National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) and Women in Engineering (WIE). In 2016, Nishmin was honoured by being awarded Gold in the prestigious Future Leaders Award from Consult Australia. In 2017, she was a Finalist in two categories for the National Women in Industry Awards.

Andrew Simpson

SDA Structures Pty Ltd

MIE(Aust), CPEng, NPER, CEng, MIStructE, RPEQ, Registered Building Practitioner Victoria and NT

Andrew is a Director of SDA Structures and has 25 years’ of experience in the design, construction and refurbishment of building structures. His work includes numerous medium and large-scale public buildings, educational facilities, commercial premises and residential projects.

Steven Wong

Acor Consultants

BE(Hons), MEngSc, MPropDev, MIEAust, CPEng, NPER, RPEQ, Registered Building Practitioner Victoria

Steven is a Principal of ACOR Consultants in the Western Sydney Office, and has more than 20 years’ experience, locally and internationally, with a wide range of experience in retail, commercial and industrial projects. Steven’s cross discipline knowledge has been a key component to the successful delivery of these projects.

Ali Habibi

Northrop Consulting Engineers

BE ME PhD (Structural Eng.), MIEAust, CPEng, NPER, RPEQ and Register Building Practitioner Victoria

Ali is an Associate in Northrop’s Sydney team, with specialist skills in high-rise residential and commercial buildings, and multi-story engineered timber structure.

With over 15 years’ experience in the industry, Ali contributes his technical expertise to the design, documentation, and construction liaison for a range of multi-disciplinary engineering works and leads a team of engineers in the Sydney Structural group. He is focused on understanding the client needs for a project, adding values and delivering results on time and on budget.

In the wider industry, Ali has presented many papers, particularly in the area of high-rise developments and earthquake engineering.

Joyce Lee ACSE

Joyce Lee


BE(Hons) MEngSc CPEng MIEAust MIStructE

Joyce is currently the discipline manager of the Structures team in Arcadis’ Buildings NSW business. She has over twelve years of experience in the different aspects of structural engineering for both local and international projects. Joyce has been involved across various stages of a project, from master-planning to concept design, through to detailed design and construction handover. Joyce’s extensive design capabilities have culminated from her experience and involvement in a variety of large scale and high profile projects. Her technical excellence combined with project management skills to lead and motivate teams, have contributed to the successful delivery of projects to clients.

Paul Moore

Wood & Grieve Engineers

BEng (Hons), CPEng, NER, RPEQ

Paul is the Structural Section Manager and a Principal at Wood & Grieve Engineers, with over 25 years’ experience across a wide range of building and infrastructure projects. Paul interacts proactively with all levels of the design team and contractors to provide a practical, coordinated design solution, which is cost effective, safe and readily buildable.
Paul adds value to the design and delivery of a project by applying a combination of technical knowledge, construction experience and commercial awareness to achieve desired outcomes.

Alison Naimo

Mott MacDonald

Alison is a Principal Engineer at Mott MacDonald, with over 13 years of experience working in structural engineering projects in the Sydney area. Alison has extensive experience across a wide range of projects in both the public and private sectors and across a wide variety of sectors with a particular interest in remedial engineering and adaptive reuse.

Alison is also experienced managing a multidiscipline engineering team from planning and concept stage through to construction and project completion.

Office Bearers

President – Joyce Lee
Vice President – Stephen Giblett
Treasurer and Company Secretary – Andrew Simpson
Executive Officer – Chloe Wyatt