ACSE Awards for Excellence in Engineering

2024 Awards for Excellence

The awards program of the Association of Consulting Structural Engineers has been running since 2013.  The ACSE Awards seek to acknowledge and showcase the remarkable work carried out by consulting structural engineering firms and their individuals within.

After a decade of being an annual program, the ACSE’s Board elected in 2023 to make the awards program a biennial event, and also to reconfigure the nomination and submission process.  2024 is thus the first year under the new system.

As always, the ACSE Awards recognises both Projects and People, and submissions are welcome from all ACSE individual members or corporate member firms.


Award for Small Projects – Awarded to small projects which demonstrate excellence in structural engineering with a construction value not exceeding $5M.

Award for Medium Projects – Awarded to projects which demonstrate excellence in structural engineering with a construction value of between $5M to $25M.

Award for Large Projects – Awarded to large projects which demonstrate excellence in structural engineering with a construction value of between $25M and $100M.

Award for Mega Projects – Awarded to large projects which demonstrate excellence in structural engineering with a construction value exceeding $100M.

Heritage – Awarded to projects within the heritage sector or with heritage merit.

Small Firm Award – Awarded to projects with structural merit by firms with no greater than five employees.

Emerging/Young Professional Award – Awarded to an outstanding young engineer who has demonstrated excellence in their career to date.

Eva Tihanyi Award – Awarded to an engineer to has demonstrated excellence in their career; has outstanding leadership qualities and is regarded as a role model; has made a significant contribution to their firm(s), and has been involved in the promotion of diversity in the engineering profession to the comunity and construction industry.

Gold Medal Award – Awarded to a distinguished NSW-based structural engineer to recognise an outstanding and long-term contribution to the structural engineering profession.


2022 Program2022 WinnersPrevious Award Winners


Award winners are decided by a judging panel comprised of some of the most experienced and respected professionals in the Australian structural engineering industry. Their collective knowledge spans a variety of specialities within the field including academia, architecture, construction, sustainability, innovation and research.


The submission process for the 2024 Awards program for both Projects and People has been simplified and is now a two-part procedure:

(1) Expressions of Interest

Expressions of Interest shall be submitted in the form of a short, written entry of no more than 500 words. Each EOI may be accompanied by up to four images on an A3 page.  Full details via the button below.  The judging panel will review and assess all submissions and create a shortlist of the three most meritorious entries in each category.  The shortlisted entries will then be invited to prepare a more detailed submission.

(2) Detailed submission

Entries that are shortlisted must then prepare a more detailed submission that directly addresses each of the judging criteria.  Full details and requirements are outlined in the document accessible via the button below.

Submissions for Expressions of Interest close 9th August, 2024.

The deadline for the detailed submissions is 30th September, 2024.

Guidelines for the Awards Criteria & Submissions PDF


The awards are open to all NSW based structural engineering practices and professionals. Projects submitted for the awards should promote achievement, innovation and excellence in the field of structural engineering by demonstrating principles such as:

  • Creativity
  • Innovation
  • Sustainability
  • Response to the project brief
  • Recognition of site constraints

Submissions should focus on structural engineering aspects and design of a project and demonstrate how the project is an example of excellence in structural engineering. The submission must include sufficient information (e.g. structural drawings and typical details) for the judges to assess the structural aspects.